Tucked in a scenic corner of the lush Southern Berkshires, the charming hamlet of Lenox is perhaps best known for being the former residence of literary legend Edith Wharton. Today, the downtown area is vibrant with unique shops, galleries and restaurants housed in renovated buildings along tree-lined avenues. Visitors enjoy touring the town's many historical and architectural landmarks, including the Berkshire Cottages, the Cloyd House & Blacksmith Shop, the Church on the Hill and more.
The Downtown Library: This historic building served as the county courthouse before Pittsfield was designated as the new county seat. Step back in time with historical exhibits in the library's Welles Gallery.
Church on the Hill: Main Street. One of the Berkshires' most enduring landmarks, this structure epitomizes the classical New England church. Built in 1895, the church was designed by renowned architect Benjamin Goodrich of Richmond. After touring the grounds, take a moment to retreat from everyday life in beautiful Kennedy Park, located directly behind the church.
Israel Dewey House: 7 Hubbard Street. Believed to be the site of the first town meeting, Israel Dewey's simple and charming farmhouse is the centerpiece of this structure, which was expanded over the years.
St. Ann's Church: 130 Main Street. This Norman Gothic Revival structure was built in 1911 and replaced the modest wooden church that dated from 1871.
Meadow Place: 114 Main Street. This federal clapboard house was originally a farmhouse and then a tavern. Eventually it was a home for elderly women, but now stands vacant.
Lenox Brotherhood Club: 65 Walker Street. Constructed in the Classical Revival style in 1937, this imposing structure is now used for community activities.
Orleton: 51 Walker Street. Built as a summer home for Harley Proctor, of Proctor and Gamble, this Beaux-Arts style house is said to have been constructed to resemble a bar of soap.
Bishop Cottage: 35 Walker Street. This 1885 clapboard building has features characteristic of Colonial Revival buildings and precipitated the rush of "cottages" that Lenox became known for.
Whitlock Farm/Grey House: 16 Church Street. Built in 1771, this is one of the town's first residences.
Mahanna House: 30 Church Street. This modest Victorian house, dating from 1856, was the residence of the Mahannas-a very prominent early Lenox family.
Cloyd House & Blacksmith Shop: 79 Church Street. Built in 1850, this is a typical example of the I-House. Originally a blacksmith and carriage house, the barn now houses a blacksmith museum.
First County Courthouse: 27 Houstanic Street. This square, two-story building from 1791 is typical of a New England meeting houses, and is constructed of wood with a lipped roof and square cupola.
Jacob Washburn House: 17 Housatonic Street. Built in 1825, this is one of Lenox's e few brick vernacular homes, and is essentially a Federal house with elements of Greek Revival architecture.
Johnson Block: 11 Housatonic Street. This neoclassic commercial building was built in the 1930s to be virtually fireproof.
Colonial Hall/Washburn House: 5 & 9 Franklin Street. Built in 1880s, this double house is now occupied by Antonio's. An excellent example of a simple vernacular building.